Achievement Unlocked: Failed “Good Morning” Check

So, it’s been a bit of a busy weekend.  After yesterday’s series of posts about game night food, I was up until three-thirty playing a game of Arkham Horror (which we won!  by the hardest method possible!  go us!).  Slept about four hours, cooked, and played an honestly exhausting D&D session, which brings us to me not quite nodding off at my keyboard at eight-fifteen on a Sunday.

(Also, for an after-game drink, I picked up a bottle of brandy at the local liquor store and am now seriously reconsidering my life choices up to this point.  Experienced drinkers, does this get better?  Or does it always taste like wine mixed with jet fuel?  I am conflicted…though, of course, not conflicted enough to dump the rest of my glass.)

I was trying to go through my normal routine of D&D-session snacks – something vaguely healthful, to contrast the cookies our fighter normally brings, and something vegan-friendly.  Holding a bundle of farmer’s market asparagus and surfing AllRecipes brought me to a delicious-looking salad for which I just happened to have all the ingredients at home.  It’s dead simple, but I’m writing it out here anyway because it’s delicious, and perhaps a bit of a change from your typical methods of consuming asparagus.  Then again, I don’t know what those are, so I’m not really one to preach, am I?  🙂

It was only after assembling the salad that I realized it had the word “feta” in the title.  And a bunch of feta in the bowl.  Feta is cheese, and therefore not vegan.  Upon realizing this after the construction of my vegan-friendly salad, or so I thought, I slipped it into the fridge, sat down at the table, and collapsed in hysterical embarrassed giggles.  Thankfully, the cleric ordered me to go lie down for two hours, so I was able to make it through the game session after all.  Barely.

****

Fresh Asparagus, Tomato, and Feta Salad

  1. Wash and trim the tough ends from your bundle of asparagus.  Chop stalks in half and plunk into pot of water.  Boil.
  2. Open can of petite diced tomatoes, drain at least some of the liquid, and set aside.
  3. Mix half-cup of seasoned rice vinegar, pinch of sugar (more if vinegar is unseasoned), generous sprinkle of salt, and three tablespoons olive oil in bowl.  Whisk.  (Or, fork.)
  4. When asparagus is sort of tender but not bending yet, remove from pot and drain.  Slice into one-inch lengths.
  5. Plunk asparagus and about a third of can of tomatoes into serving bowl.  Add four ounces or so of feta; if you like more cheese in your veggies, add more cheese.  Pour dressing over all and toss to coat.
  6. Place in fridge, apologize to vegan friend, and GO TAKE A NAP.  Salad is ready to be served after about an hour, or whenever you wake up.
, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

