Achievement Unlocked: Ridiculous Vegan Brownies

Sorry for the delay, folks (all two of you who read this), but I promise I’m back in action!

Any of you who game with friends regularly, D&D or otherwise, will agree that one of the best parts of any game session is the snacking part.  Since our D&D group meets at my house, it’s the least I can do to provide things to nibble while our cleric is trying to kill herself with fire traps and the fighter is trying to remember how his belt levels up his weapon.  Me, I’m playing a gnome barbarian tank.  When things need to be hit, I hit them.  When they don’t, I dart over to the stove and check whatever’s going on there.

The cleric is a vegan, the sorceror a vegetarian, so I try to concentrate my efforts in that direction.  Dessert-making for them, though, is something I’d never really tried before.  I stumbled upon a recipe for brownies without any eggs or butter, courtesy of AllRecipes!  Here’s how I arrived at the delicious dark bricks that resulted.

*******

Vegan Brownies

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Measure Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder; discover about nine tablespoons in container.  Pour into bowl and decide to one-and-a-half recipe.
  3. Add three cups sugar (I’m sure this could be dialed back, but they were delicious), a teaspoon and a half of baking powder, a dash of salt, a glug of vanilla (that’s how I measure), and a cup and a half of water.
  4. Realize you’re out of unbleached regular flour.  Call the cleric and semi-desperately request a flour delivery; explain that it’s either that or whole-wheat brownies.
  5. When cleric arrives, add three cups flour.  Stir.
  6. Add one-and-a-half cups of vegetable oil…except, don’t do this.  This was a monstrously large puddle of oil, and no more than half actually got stirred into the mix; the rest was just floating on top.  Add 3/4 cup of oil, at best.
  7. Stir until combined and pour into ungreased baking pan.
  8. Bake for thirty minutes; check and realize top is still not set.  Return to game.  When cleric reminds you somewhere around ten minutes later to check the oven, do so; brownies should be set.  Leave to cool for a couple minutes, slice, and enjoy!
, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

